Illinois Association of the Deaf 2017 Biennial Conference in Naperville, IL General Meeting Minutes – June 24, 2017

The meeting was called to order at 8:57am by president Corey Axelrod

Roll call was conducted. Quorum satisfied.

Sergeants of Arms were assigned: Earl Weston and Tom Adamo

Moment of Silence was conducted. Necrology:

- Anna Connor
- Minnie Glazer
- Paul Menkis
- Henry Niemeyer
- Patti Phadke
- Janet Pope
- Ralph Reese
- Clyde Smith
- Betty Walsh

Susan Dramin-Weiss/Patty Weston moved all chapter representatives serve on the conference minutes review team. Motion carried.

Kim Mokris/Leon Devriendt moved to approve the standing rules as shown. Motion carried.

Patty Weston/Ray Francini moved to approve the general meeting agenda as shown. Motion carried.

Jason Altmann/Kim Mokris moved to approve the 2015 Conference minutes as reviewed and shown. Motion carried.

President Corey Axelrod delivered the State of the IAD presentation.

Treasurer Lisa Roth delivered the treasurer and budget report.

New Business:

Ramesh Phadke/Ray Francini moved to approve the bylaws as approved by members during the 6/23/17 bylaws meeting. Motion carried.

President Corey Axelrod called a lunch recess at 11:30am.

Meeting was called back to order by president Corey Axelrod at 12:50pm.

Membership Secretary Susan Dramin-Weiss delivered the membership committee report.

President Corey Axelrod announced the 2017-2019 priorities. President Corey Axelrod asked for a friendly vote regarding the approval of the priorities. No members opposed. Priorities passed.

Elke Weinbrenner/Sarita Phadke moved to have the conference held during the week of non-pride week. Motion carried.

Tom Chance/Ray Francini moved to form a spokesperson for the Deaf at the Governor's Office and for the IAD to contact the Governor's office to discuss. Motion carried.

Paula Chance/Deloris Summers moved to have the review committee review all reports submitted for clarification and editing where needed. Motion carried.

Jason Altmann/Gustavo Diaz moved IAD shall allocate \$4,000 for each year to the Legislative Committee fund in order for the committee to carry out its work such as meeting with legislators, community outreach, training and other meetings. Angela Botz/Tom Bruhn amended to change \$4,000 to \$5,000 per year. Motion carried.

Kim Mokris/Gustavo Diaz moved IAD shall donate \$2,000 to LEAD-K for sign language interpreter costs. Tom Bruhn/Leon Devriendt moved to amend the allocation of \$1,000 to be immediate while the second \$1,000 be allocated when all members of the LEAD-K team become IAD members. Motion carried.

Jennifer Buck/Jason Altmann moved the Youth Program investigate insurance liability to allow "stay overs" for future youth events. Motion carried.

Leon Devriendt/Susan Dramin-Weiss moved IAD donate \$100.00 to ASL Hospice by JACIL for interpreter services. Melvin Long/Jim Lomanto amended to change \$100.00 to \$250.00. Motion carried.

Jason Altmann/Leon Devriendt moved the IAD shall send at least 2 Executive Board members, if available, and the Legislative Committee Chair to NAD's Leadership Training Conference on October 5-7, 2017 and cover their expenses. Donald Moore/Earl Weston amended to allow an additional two (2) people to go at the discretion of the board. Suzy Laskowski/Lisa Dramin amended to change two (2) to one (1) additional person. Motion carried.

Robert Uhren/Gustavo Diaz moved the IAD develop a form of obligation for communicating any changes in guidelines to reflect transparency. Motion carried.

Deloris Summers/Susan Dramin-Weiss moved IAD donate \$250.00 to ASL hospice. Motion carried.

Kevin Ryan/Leon Devriendt moved IAD individual membership fee be \$5.00. Melvin Long/Robert Smania amended to add indefinitely. Earl Weston/Jean Modry amended to add individuals can only pay up to 3 years in advance. Motion carried.

President Corey Axelrod called for a 10-minute recess at 2:47pm.

Meeting was called back to order by president Corey Axelrod at 2:57pm.

Corey Axelrod gave the floor to Election Chairperson Suzy Laskowski.

The results of officer elections are as follows:

President: Corey AxelrodVice President: Kevin Ryan

• Treasurer: Lisa Roth

• Secretary: Leon Devriendt

• Membership Secretary: Elke Weinbrenner

Corey Axelrod/John Brennan moved to elect trustee positions one at a time. Motion carried.

The results of the trustee elections are as follows:

- Ramesh Phadke
- Marietta Coufal
- Deloris Summers

Election Chairperson gave the floor back to president Corey Axelrod.

President Corey Axelrod shared there was no bid for the 2019 IAD Conference.

President Corey Axelrod adjourned the meeting at 4:35pm.

Respectfully submitted by Suzy Laskowski and Jennifer Buck, IAD Voluntary Secretaries for the Conference